Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

Software Reviews

Here, you will find a number of simulator reviews. We take a look at some of the most anticipated releases and review them here. If you are thinking about a particular flight simulator but aren’t sure whether or not it’s worth purchasing, check here because you may be able to find a review here.

MD-11 has taken four years to come to market. It’s finally here! This particular software was developed by PDMG, a very well respected simulator developer. Flight One and Aerosoft are additional products they have in their portfolio. MD-11 is a cool product. It is extremely authentic looking which makes it a joy to play.

A400M Airlifter is another really cool simulator made by Wilco. It comes with a virtual cockpit which is pretty robust and detailed. The program is a very realistic one and is extremely feature packed. It is definitely worth considering.

UK2000 Bristol Xtreme Scenery package is a good buy for those interested in flying in and out of this particular airport. Extremely busy, the Bristol scenery pack is the ideal program for individuals that would like some practice navigating busier airports. It will give them a lot of good practice. This would be especially beneficial for real-life pilots who would like a few extra practice runs, without leaving their home. It would also be a lot of fun for virtual pilots as well.

C-17A Globemaster III for FSX by Virtavia Review C-17A Globemaster III for FSX by Virtavia Review

Posted on Mon, 05 Dec 2016 16:35:33 GMT (3897 reads)

Every now and then, an aircraft comes along that you’ve been dying to fly again. Having always had a love for Boeing aircraft, I was excited to try out this Virtavia take on the Boeing C-17A GlobeMaster III. So, when I got the chance to give it a go, I just had to let you guys know what I thought of it.

de Havilland DH.104 'Dove' and 'Devon' Review (FSX/P3D) de Havilland DH.104 'Dove' and 'Devon' Review (FSX/P3D)

Posted on Thu, 01 Dec 2016 11:00:00 GMT (970 reads)

Although no longer in significant service today, a part of the charm of simulation is revisiting the past. Today, we’re going to take a look at the de Havilland Dove. The aircraft has an interesting history, and was an aircraft that took place in many different activities and engagements. However, it’s an aircraft that has been created in the past to great effect.

Orbx Victa Airtourer Review (FSX/FSX:SE/P3D) Orbx Victa Airtourer Review (FSX/FSX:SE/P3D)

Posted on Wed, 30 Nov 2016 15:12:05 GMT (684 reads)

In this review, we’ll be taking a look at the Victa Airtourer, an aircraft with a huge amount of history and prestige. The information and opinion gathered in this guide came as a result of both research of the real aircraft, comparisons with the specifications provided by the developers, and personal opinion over several hours of usage.

So, after more than enough flying to get used to the aircraft, what did we make of the Airtourer?

A2A Piper PA-24 Comanche 250 Review A2A Piper PA-24 Comanche 250 Review

Posted on Mon, 21 Sep 2015 12:54:58 GMT (5894 reads)

A2A Simulations have been around for some time, creating engaging and exciting aircraft modifications that manage to really capture the little things that make simulation such a fun thing to be a part of. Having been built between 1957 and 1972 regularly, this aircraft carries a lot of history and a lot of nostalgia for older pilots, but also remains an interesting choice for those of a newer generation who want to try out a real classic of the skies. The low wings and the monocoque construction ensures that the aircraft flies quite different to smaller aircraft you may be more used to.

Review: Alabeo's Diamond DA42 'Twin Star' for FSX/P3D Review: Alabeo's Diamond DA42 'Twin Star' for FSX/P3D

Posted on Mon, 24 Aug 2015 13:13:23 GMT (3967 reads)

As you will no doubt have heard in the past, Alabeo are one of the most well respected members of the flight simulation community due to their overall quality and their class as a team of modelers, skinners and developers. 

Review: USS Enterprise Aircraft Carrier for FSX/P3D by Team SDB Review: USS Enterprise Aircraft Carrier for FSX/P3D by Team SDB

Posted on Tue, 16 Jun 2015 13:40:15 GMT (14442 reads)

For many years, aircraft carriers have played a key role in military aviation. It’s been the stopping point and starting point for many aircrafts over recent decades, giving them an easy place to take off from when they were low on fuel or in need of repairs. Aircraft carriers alone have completely revolutionized the way that we fight and take the battle to other parts of the world, and for that reason it’s become one of the most prominent parts of military planning for quite some time. 

Aerosoft Mega Airport London Heathrow Xtended Review Aerosoft Mega Airport London Heathrow Xtended Review

Posted on Wed, 06 May 2015 11:53:23 GMT (6894 reads)

As you might imagine, when you first start using a flight simulator you will want to be able to fully understand everything that is has to offer you. It needs to look realistic, authentic and truly responsive to what you are asking for. As you may have noticed yourself, though, this is pretty hard to do. With the entire world effectively being covered by flight simulators today, it can be hard for the developers to find the manpower, resources and technology to make the entire world look as realistic as possible.

Aerosoft's Mega Airport Lisbon v2 Scenery Add-on: A Review Aerosoft's Mega Airport Lisbon v2 Scenery Add-on: A Review

Posted on Thu, 16 Apr 2015 20:51:40 GMT (6316 reads)

As one of the most prominent cities in Europe, it’s no surprise that plenty of people want to fly to Lisbon – having been myself in reality, I’ve always wanted to see the stunning Lisbon airport done up to its full grandeur and capacity in a flight simulator. It’s a truly awesome city to be in, and the quality of the airport there is absolutely awesome as well. Well, having been a huge fan of this location for many years you can imagine that there was plenty of smiles when the Mega Airport Lisbon v2.0 package was released.

Accu-Sim Cessna 182 Skylane by A2A Simulations Review Accu-Sim Cessna 182 Skylane by A2A Simulations Review

Posted on Tue, 14 Apr 2015 16:14:59 GMT (9193 reads)

When it comes to flying specific aircraft in a simulator, it’s very important that you can turn to the most unique representations out there on the web. After all, without authenticity there really isn’t much point in getting involved. This is why being able to access the various creations from across the web, made by simulation fans as well as modding professionals and aviation specialists, 

Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Steam Edition Review Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Steam Edition Review

Posted on Thu, 19 Feb 2015 18:37:53 GMT (106560 reads)

If you have been a fan of flight simulation for some time, then you’ll no doubt be aware of just how effective the Microsoft Flight Simulator series has been over the years. It’s become the absolute staple of flight simulation quality and realism for many years and is one of the flagship Microsoft gaming products. The most recent release, Flight Simulator X, was hugely received at the time and quickly established itself as the key player within the flight simulation industry. 

A2A Simulations PA-28 Cherokee 180 Review A2A Simulations PA-28 Cherokee 180 Review

Posted on Thu, 19 Feb 2015 16:21:26 GMT (7427 reads)

As massive fans of the popular brand of aircraft produced by A2A Simulations, it’s no surprise that we were more than happy to try out their latest release – the PA-28 Cherokee 180. It’s got class and style in abundance, whist also offering you something a bit more whimsical to try out. In true A2A style this comes with all the bells and whistles that you might be expecting, but just how good is it in the end? Does it really give you everything that you need to get the most out of your flight simulation experience?

Train Simulator 2015 Review Train Simulator 2015 Review

Posted on Wed, 18 Feb 2015 11:17:55 GMT (8870 reads)

As any good simulation fan will know, the market is expanding all the time. Whilst Microsoft Flight Simulator is probably the most well-known of all the kinds out there, the simulation genre has spanned countless different industries and styles. From the likes of Theme Park and SimCity that allowed you to take on management properties of corporations and cities to the individual simulators out there like flight simulations, you’ve got so much to choose form that takes you a little bit further beyond “the norm” for what a gaming experience typically delivers.

IL-2 Sturmovik: Battle of Stalingrad Review IL-2 Sturmovik: Battle of Stalingrad Review

Posted on Mon, 09 Feb 2015 09:41:24 GMT (12066 reads)

Out of all the video game genres out there, the flight simulation niche seems to be one of the least popular for variety. In the modern times, we’ve have the various flight simulators released by Microsoft and a few similar approaches, but outside of that there’s not been too many epics out there on to take to the skies in. The problem seems to be a lack of realism, or a lack of features.

Warbirdsim Mustang Tales: Post WWII and Navy Service Review Warbirdsim Mustang Tales: Post WWII and Navy Service Review

Posted on Tue, 25 Nov 2014 13:07:26 GMT (11634 reads)

Mustang Tales: Post WWII and Navy Service is a combination of 18 North American Aviation P-51D Mustangs, a World War II aircraft carrier of the United States Navy, and 22 simulation flights using various models at various locations.

Review of VERO-FS San Francisco Bay Photoreal Scenery Review of VERO-FS San Francisco Bay Photoreal Scenery

Posted on Wed, 20 Aug 2014 15:44:05 GMT (11407 reads)

Vero-FS offers a photo-realistic texture scenery for central California, U.S.A, including the San Francisco Bay area and California's Central Valley. The entire scenery covers 22,700 square miles (58,793 square kilometers), including all of San Francisco Peninsula and Bay area, the mountains surrounding the bay area, and the Central Valley east of the bay area.  It also includes Napa Valley and the City of Napa that were damaged by a 6.0 earthquake on 24 August 2014.

Alabeo Diamond DA40 for FSX Review Alabeo Diamond DA40 for FSX Review

Posted on Mon, 11 Aug 2014 13:46:31 GMT (22010 reads)

The DA40 Star is a light, single-engine, low-wing, composite aircraft designed and manufactured by Diamond Aircraft of Austria. First flown in 1997, it is a four-seat expansion of the earlier DA20. Manufactured in Austria and Canada, it is popular with flying schools and militaries around the world for flight training.

Alabeo's Piper PA-36 Pawnee Brave 375: A Review Alabeo's Piper PA-36 Pawnee Brave 375: A Review

Posted on Sat, 23 Mar 2013 14:54:49 GMT (69727 reads)

White Knuckle Crop Dusting Fun: Piper PA-36 Pawnee Brave 375 for FSX/Prepar3D.  You drop in low over the field of neat rows of soybeans waiting patiently. A crosswind is threatening to take you off course. Pulling your eyes up from the instrument panel, you take a deep breath and remind yourself to trust your instincts. This isn't like flying a jumbo jet into a giant airport. This is crop dusting, one of the last frontiers of seat-of-the-pants flying. The low passes and sharp turns demand exacting flying skills. Many jumbo jet pilots can’t handle it.

A Review of Prepar3D from Lockheed Martin A Review of Prepar3D from Lockheed Martin

Posted on Wed, 27 Jun 2012 07:32:34 GMT (78647 reads)

It’s bonanza time for flight simulation fans--there has never been so many different products to play with!  The new Microsoft Flight, X-Plane 10, Prepar3D…

Wait. Prepar..what?

PMDG 747-400 X 'Queen of the Skies' Review PMDG 747-400 X 'Queen of the Skies' Review

Posted on Thu, 21 Jun 2012 15:10:23 GMT (27807 reads)

PMDG’s 747-400 add-on may be the best-titled add-on in Microsoft Flight Simulator history! The reason? Well, the 747-400 truly was the “Queen of the Skies,” and PMDG has captured her majesty.

X-Plane 10 Review X-Plane 10 Review

Posted on Mon, 18 Jun 2012 12:19:53 GMT (40827 reads)

X-Plane has been considered by many to be the number one alternative to Microsoft Flight Simulator, which boasts a market share of over 90%.  Now, Flight Simulator has made its final landing and retired, handing the yoke to the new Microsoft Flight. Can X-Plane 10 take advantage of the shift in the marketplace and capture the crown?

Concorde X Review Concorde X Review

Posted on Tue, 29 May 2012 10:13:49 GMT (26799 reads)

When Microsoft removed the Concorde SSTSIM from the Microsoft Flight Simulator aircraft line-up, fans cried out, “Where For Art Thou, Concorde? We Miss Thee So!”

RailWorks 3: Train Simulator 2012 Deluxe Pack Review RailWorks 3: Train Simulator 2012 Deluxe Pack Review

Posted on Mon, 17 Oct 2011 12:29:24 GMT (64766 reads)

This PC Train Simulator software is the successor of Railworks 2, released well ahead before 2012, available as a Deluxe Pack, which can only be purchased as a downloadable at Steam.com.  (Owners of Railworks 2 must be aware that Train Simulator 2012 will automatically install itself over their old version).

RailWorks 2 Train Simulator Review RailWorks 2 Train Simulator Review

Posted on Thu, 17 Mar 2011 15:18:39 GMT (19361 reads)

This PC Train Simulator software was original called Railsimulator, then changed into Railworks and nowadays called RailWorks2.  The CD-box version comes with impressive documentation with Quick Install, Driver manual, Keyboard & Signal Guide and even a Creator Manual to create your own add-on’s.  To install you need first to register for an (free) account with Steam.com. Steam will then take care of a smooth  installation of the game, all updates available and free add-on’s.

Just Flight A340-500/600 Review Just Flight A340-500/600 Review

Posted on Thu, 24 Feb 2011 15:24:44 GMT (20713 reads)

Just Flight, in partnership with the geniuses at Commercial Level Simulations have brought to us a beautiful add on for Microsoft Flight Simulator X.  Airbus’ long haul A-340 has been duplicated in many of its earlier versions in freeware.  Quality add-ons are available up to the –300 series.  Just Flight and CLS have brought to market for the first time, a high quality simulation for the latest versions of the airplane, the –500 and –600 series of Airbus’ major competitor to Boeing’s top selling and long lived 747 series.

Ship Simulator 2006 Review Ship Simulator 2006 Review

Posted on Wed, 09 Feb 2011 15:58:28 GMT (15915 reads)

Ship Simulator 2006 is available as a boxed version and by download. The reviewed boxed version comes on a single CD-ROM which installs without any problem with Windows XP SP3, on a Packard Bell desktop, Pentium Dual CPU 2.20GHz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA geForce 9300 GE. The program needs a 650MB of which a 359Mb is needed for the Tutorials. A product key and username is required, but after that, the CD is not required anymore to play.

727 Captain Review 727 Captain Review

Posted on Thu, 06 Jan 2011 17:29:36 GMT (21119 reads)

With Captain Sim leading the market in terms of visual realism, who can wait to open that beautifully plastic wrapped package? I know as the days went on I became more desperate to get hold of the 727... my obsession was not thwarted as when I did get this aircraft, I continued to have a blast with it as I do now! The brilliance in detail, and the old jet smell is fantastic... consider so realistic that you can even smell the fumes coming from the old P&W JT8D-7! The 727 was the workhorse for many airlines worldwide, and continues to serve various freighter company’s and of course the infamous Donald Trump! So without further adieu I introduce you to the Boeing 727 Pro pack... enjoy!

UK2000 Scenery Bristol Xtreme Review UK2000 Scenery Bristol Xtreme Review

Posted on Wed, 17 Nov 2010 16:15:01 GMT (10656 reads)

Bristol International Airport was the 9th busiest airport in the UK in 2009, handling over 5.5 million passengers. The airport is currently doing scheduled flights to Newark in the US with Continental Airlines, but as of 7th November 2010, these flights will stop. Recently, the airport has been rebranded ‘Bristol Airport’, gaining a new logo and a new slogan ‘Amazing Journeys Start Here’. The largest aircraft that can currently be accommodated at Bristol Airport – due to runway length – is a 767, which Thomson Airlines currently use on flights in and out of Bristol Airport.

PMDG MD-11 Review PMDG MD-11 Review

Posted on Mon, 26 Jul 2010 15:26:41 GMT (39680 reads)

I’ve owned a wide variety of software for both FS9 and FSX. I’ve seen the vast variation in the “not so real” category and the “I can’t believe it’s not a real airplane” category... all jokes aside this product so very well fits into the highest category of realism! The MD-11 has been in development for over four years as the major FS9 to FSX transition was made. PMDG has always put their best foot forward in every single product they make. Along with Flight One, and Captain Sim, Aerosoft to mention a few.

Wilco A400M Airlifter Review Wilco A400M Airlifter Review

Posted on Wed, 07 Jul 2010 18:19:24 GMT (16551 reads)

Hello my Name is William. I am currently a student pilot starting my climb to a career in the Aerospace industry. Ever since I was a toddler I was fascinated with aviation. I one day plan to go into space at least once. I would also like to fly very large aircraft. I was asked to review the Airbus A400 created by Wilco publishing so without further waiting I give you the A400 REVIEW!  The most unique thing about the A400 is the Virtual cockpit. It is absolutely HUGE! With the Cockpit the crew rest area behind the cockpit door the main stairway and behind that is the HUGE cargo/pax hold. Here are a few pictures of the various compartments of the A400 VC.

phpVMS Virtual Airline Software Review phpVMS Virtual Airline Software Review

Posted on Tue, 06 Apr 2010 16:16:52 GMT (19926 reads)

Your probably asking what the he'll is phpVMS and why do I want to know what it is? Well if so let me break it down for you, phpvms is a content management system specifically designed for virtual airlines. It is an extremely helpful system and I wouldn't recommend any payware cms over it.

Flight1 Super 80 Pro Review Flight1 Super 80 Pro Review

Posted on Tue, 07 Apr 2009 00:09:59 GMT (30235 reads)

One of our newest members of the team, William Nonya has written a detailed review of the new Super 80 Professional from Flight1.  The review starts... Hello my name is William I am currently a student pilot working my way up the aviation ladder to get to the left seat in a large airliner. I also wish to fly as commander on one of the moon missions.  These are all of course opportunity I tend to take. With all that said my interest in aviation as you can tell is quite strong. I have flown a piper archer, Cessna 172, Cessna 182, I have completed my solo and continue to advance my aeronautical knowledge.  Click on Read More to read the full review.

Around the World in 80 Flights Review Around the World in 80 Flights Review

Posted on Thu, 22 Jan 2009 06:25:47 GMT (21830 reads)

One of our forum members, TomTheTank has accepted the offer to review Around the World in 80 Flights by First Class Simulations.  This is only the second review by one of our forum members.  The review starts: I first flew FS98 and was hooked.  With each new Flight simulator release,I became a flight sim addict.  FS2004 was at first a huge disappointment.  

Francesim's La Reunion Island Review Francesim's La Reunion Island Review

Posted on Thu, 11 May 2006 11:53:51 GMT (16819 reads)

One of our forum members, cheekytrolly has recently reviewed a copy of Project Canarias 2006 and posted it on our forums - I decided to post it on the home page for all to see.  The review goes: I recently downloaded the payware scenery for “La Reunion Island” by Francesim, and have to say, it combines everything I could have ever wanted from a flight simulator scenic package.   Click on Read More for the full review.

737 Pilot in Command Review 737 Pilot in Command Review

Posted on Sat, 29 Apr 2006 13:55:59 GMT (96374 reads)

One of our most loyal forum members, TomTheTank accepted the offer to review one of JustFlight's latest releases, 737 Pilot in Command. This is the first review written by a forum member, we usually write all of our reviews in-house. Review starts: A quick bit about me and my flightsim history; I bought MSFS98 and was instantly hooked. With each release of MSFS things just got better and better, visuals and sounds... 

Project Canarias 2006 Review Project Canarias 2006 Review

Posted on Fri, 21 Apr 2006 12:20:48 GMT (22571 reads)

One of our forum members, cheekytrolly has recently reviewed a copy of Project Canarias 2006 and posted it on our forums - I decided to post it on the home page for all to see.  The review goes: Well I know it has been a month already since this freeware scenery package was released, but after no one else wrote a review of Project Canarias, I decided that it was time I tested it out for myself!  Click on Read More for the full review.

London Gatwick 2004 Review London Gatwick 2004 Review

Posted on Sat, 22 Nov 2003 11:37:10 GMT (21076 reads)

OSS is a scenery design group that develop add-ons for the Microsoft Flight Simulator Range.  OSS's previous scenery package, London City 2003 boasted some great scenery add-ons, lots of little details that makes their packages special - as is their latest release, London Gatwick 2004!  Developed over many months using the latest in GMAX technology, and lovingly hand textured,  OSS are sure you will get many hours of enjoyment from flying in this ultra realistic scenery environment. 

Roaring Thirties Review Roaring Thirties Review

Posted on Sun, 21 Sep 2003 16:43:59 GMT (9248 reads)

To celebrate one hundred years of powered flight, and the release of the new Microsoft flight simulator, Lago released their all new add-on for flight sim 2004. The Roaring Thirties, includes two brilliantly detailed aircraft.  The highly desirable Beech Staggerwing, and the incredible Stinson Gullwing are two masterpieces, both brilliantly modelled- the screenshots in this review speak for themselves! Both aircraft are available with many different paint schemes, and are equipped with stunning virtual cockpits, which are fully interactive. It is getting to be a habit now.. Lago always stick to their high quality standards, examples of this in FS Falcon, Tornado! & the Roaring Thirties. 

GeoRender5 Review GeoRender5 Review

Posted on Sun, 07 Sep 2003 16:30:32 GMT (7869 reads)

Here’s a review on Lago’s previous scenery project, the great GeoRender5! I have never had the slightest interest in scenery for the flight sim. I believe that scenery available is not really worth the money. After buying one area of scenery, you fly around it, very pretty, but after a few flights, you begin to get bored of it. Eventually you just get sick and tired of it, and place it up on your old dusty shelf. The shelf of no return.  Lago’s GeoRender5 is completely different, and has earned my seal of approval, which many of you know by now, is not easily obtained. GeoRender5 sits proudly on my top five of recent add-ons. So lets take a look, to see what makes GeoRender5 stand out from the crowd.  

You can view older news articles by visiting our news archive here.

Sign-Up

Signing-up for a Pro account gives you super fast uncapped speed to the thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane downloads which include aircraft, scenery and more - click here to view the library for free or...

Go Pro
Sign-Up Now

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter

Join over 130,000 subscribers of our free dedicated flight simulation newsletter. Featuring new downloads, products and industry news.

 

Survey

Have you downloaded your copy of Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Steam Edition?

Yes, they have really improved it.
No, I haven't downloaded it yet...
I'm going to stick with my original FSX.
I haven't even moved to FSX, I'm sticking with FS2004.
No, X-Plane all the way!
...there's a Steam Edition?
I've moved to Prepar3D.

Votes 15423

Social

Follow us on Social Networks

Subscribe to our newsletter

 
RSS Feed iPhone App

Terms & Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Copyright © 2017 Fly Away Simulation. All Rights Reserved.